Good fiberglass/epoxy instructional videos?

Finishes, paints and coatings

Good fiberglass/epoxy instructional videos?

Postby Kharn » Mon Aug 11, 2014 9:48 am

Can anyone recommend fiberglass/epoxy tutorial videos on Youtube, etc? I'm a complete newbie to the subject and not sure which ones have good vs poor advice.
Kharn
500 Club

Re: Good fiberglass/epoxy instructional videos?

Postby tony.latham » Mon Aug 11, 2014 10:28 am

Kharn:

Great idea on the Youtube video. I just watched this one with my Monday morning coffee: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=qsupx-IXOzU and it looked good to me. The wooden-boat guys usually know what they are doing.

I use Raka epoxy and mix using their pumps. I've never had a mixing problem and have gone through three gallons of Raka on various projects. Mix your epoxy in small batches or it will "go off" due to the heat it creates. Don't do it when it's 85º.

If you are going to fiberglass your edges, read Larry C's advice in this thread about cutting your own bias tape strips: viewtopic.php?t=34887&p=633840 He's right on the money. And don't try to do a sharp 90º corner that doesn't have at least a 3/8" beveled edge.

Fiberglass and epoxy is great stuff. :beer:

Tony
tony.latham
Gold Donating Member

Postby mgb4tim » Mon Aug 11, 2014 1:35 pm

Fibre Glast made a series of videos in the 90's that were pretty informative, and actually showed the process. I have them on VHS somewhere, but I'm pretty sure they are on YouTube.

Try this page - http://www.fibreglast.com/category/Learning_Center.
mgb4tim
Teardrop Advisor

Postby Kharn » Mon Aug 18, 2014 2:30 pm

I watched a few boat building videos and felt brave enough to attempt the fiberglass. It was actually a lot easier than I'd feared and I got two coats of epoxy done in one day. I wanted to do a third (and maybe a fourth) coat but I had no more rollers.

Helpful tools: