First Teardrop Need Exterior paint advice

Finishes, paints and coatings

First Teardrop Need Exterior paint advice

Postby Jharris1385 » Wed Nov 11, 2015 10:15 am

My friend was lucky enough to find some filon really cheap for his build, this is not the case for me.

Another friend just used latex exterior paint on his walls and luan top (his will be stored inside)

I would like to see if going above and beyond is worth it.

What about the newer decking products that creates the thicker paint and extra protection?
I have read it would be a weight increase, but that is minimal. I have also seen someone comment about the lack of experience with it withstanding wind speeds while traveling (honestly, doubt that would be an issue). However, I am not an expert and this would be the first time I have seen it used personally.

What are your thoughts? What are some alternatives? Or is exterior paint good enough?
My worries/concerns are outside storage (with a cover or tarp), I want this to last. I dont have the garage space.

http://www.menards.com/main/p-144445307 ... 1512653060

Thanks in advance.
Jharris1385
Teardrop Inspector

Re: First Teardrop Need Exterior paint advice

Postby tony.latham » Wed Nov 11, 2015 11:31 am

What are your thoughts?

I wouldn't want to use my teardrop as an experiment. A chunk of wood treated and left in the back yard for five years or ten years, sure, but not my 'drop. I've seen one deck with that stuff that was peeling off and the owner was upset. It was probably a cleaning issue.

If it were me, and i was going to paint a wooden teardrop, I'd give it two coats of Raka thin (non-blush) epoxy followed by a marine paint. The other option I might consider is several back-to-back coats of The Mix followed by the marine paint. (And I'd run over it with a scotch pad on a random orbital sander before the paint.)