epoxy and FG questions for redneck truck camper

Finishes, paints and coatings

epoxy and FG questions for redneck truck camper

Postby MudFlap » Sun Jun 21, 2020 10:51 am

Hello. New member here. Brief "build" thread here: http://www.tnttt.com/viewtopic.php?f=50&t=72813

Just about ready to epoxy and FG the exterior of the camper.

I have no experience with epoxy or FG!

I've spent quite a bit of time reading other threads on this forum and have gathered enough information (and confidence) to convince myself that I. can. do. this.

I've ordered up (but not received) a some Raka 127 thin epoxy and 350 non-blush hardner, plus some 30" 4oz cloth & 3" 6oz tape.

Plan is to:

1. epoxy all surfaces
2. glass seams
3. cloth + epoxy all surfaces
4. glass corners
5. recoat all surfaces a time or two
6. prime and paint

Lots of questions. Most of my questions deal with applying epoxy to these large, flat surfaces (several are ~100 ft^2).

I know that after applying epoxy, it will soon start to cure and become "soft and sticky". At this point, it is recommended to leave it alone until it becomes "hard and sticky". At this point, it can be re-coated. If left to cure too long, it will become "hard and not-sticky". At this point, a re-coat is not possible unless sanded to allow a mechanical instead of chemical bond to previous layer.

What should my strategy be in laying down epoxy on the large sides and top? I'm wondering if I put down a strip of epoxy (and perhaps FG), it might have set up enough by the time I finish one strip that I won't be able to do a second strip due to the need to overlap the two strips.

If I work across the short side, maybe I'll be fast enough to put down second strip before 1st strip gets sticky? I will be rolling the epoxy on with 6" roller.

Or should I just punt, work length-wise and just plan for one strip per session? If I want to keep working, I can move to another side of camper...
MudFlap
Teardrop Inspector