Anyone tow with a Subaru Forester?

All about towing and tow vehicles

Anyone tow with a Subaru Forester?

Postby willrothfuss » Thu Mar 22, 2018 6:07 pm

Hi, newbie here with the teardrop bug ( it really is a bug isn't it?). Before I venture any further down this rabbit hole, I'd like to know if towing a trailer with my Subaru is really practical. I have a 2014 Forester- standard 4 cylinder engine with automatic transmission. The manual gives a maximum trailer weight of 1500# with brakes and 1000# without brakes. The maximum tongue load is 175# and should be between 8-11% of the total trailer weight. It goes on to talk about GVWR and GAW, and distribution of trailer weight in front of and behind the trailer axle, but I'm not sure how important any of this is. I have never towed anything and am getting a little leery.

First, I'd like to hear from anyone with a Forester and a teardrop. I would be grateful for any advice from non-Forester owners as well. Should one stay well below these maximums to avoid excessive wear on the car? I would think that getting a trailer hitch from the dealer would be the way to go, and they could answer a lot of questions as well.

Thanks, Will
Do not go where the path may lead, go instead where there is no path and leave a trail. Ralph Waldo Emerson
willrothfuss
Teardrop Builder

Re: Anyone tow with a Subaru Forester?

Postby GuitarPhotog » Thu Mar 22, 2018 7:48 pm