The RayPalm -- a large tear that sleeps 4+

This includes traditional teardrop shapes and styles

The RayPalm -- a large tear that sleeps 4+

Postby roadtripray » Thu Mar 03, 2011 9:47 am

Hi all,

I'm still pretty new to this whole teardrop thing, but I've been lurking about and have been gleaning ideas from other designs, trying to find one that will work for my family. I like the outside galley concept of the teardrop, because it keeps cooking smells and grease outdoors, we will probably usually eat outdoors anyway, so it will save trucking food outside after it's prepared, and it means you don't have to have the floor space or the standing height for the person working in the galley. The only square footage taken up by the galley is the actual galley itself, whereas in a typical camper you have to have room to work, also.

I also need room for my wife and I to sleep, along with our two kids, plus any extras. I decided on going with the bunks in the front, and I'm planning on hinging the top bunk so it can swing down to serve as a backrest so the bottom bunk will double as a settee during the day. This and a planned dinette will provide plenty of room to sit when the weather is bad.

I'm really new to sketchup, but I uploaded my first 3D model here http://sketchup.google.com/3dwarehouse/ ... 9276f932d6

I am using a 14' long box, but I think I'm going to shave room off the dinette/bed and move the door a little closer to the front to bring it down to a 12' box. I have to do some figuring on this.