Rose4aname wrote:Can this be done with a small 15ft camper? I bought one without a title and made it over but I have been going round and round with the DMV here in SC. If I can just get a title everything would be grand!
KCStudly wrote:I have some experience with registering a vehicle in Maine using a power of attorney second party service. This is totally legal... in Maine.
However, your home state may have a different opinion. In my hot rod truck, registered in ME, home address on registration in CT, I have been given verbal warnings that it is not legal and that I should re-register, but so far no tickets or written warnings. (I think the cops dig the truck and only want to be doing their job without hassling me too much.)
I have heard of people being contacted thru the mail by CT DMV that their ME reg. needed to be transfered, but I think these were cases where they switched from a previous CT reg. to ME. Mine was out of state purchase never reg. in CT so I have not had that problem.
Lots of custom car/hot rod types resort to this method because Mainers are laid back easy going and CT is up tight.
It has to do with the federal highway money. CT wants it and ME says to go pound sand, keep your rules.
harleymsn wrote:I can't speak for CT, but I was a police officer in NY state for 25 years and I can tell you that NY State V&T Law makes it illegal to live within the state and operate an out of state registered vehicle, registered to you for more than 30 days. After the 30 days NYS deems the vehicle unregistered, subject to tow and impoundment.
parnold wrote:harleymsn wrote:I can't speak for CT, but I was a police officer in NY state for 25 years and I can tell you that NY State V&T Law makes it illegal to live within the state and operate an out of state registered vehicle, registered to you for more than 30 days. After the 30 days NYS deems the vehicle unregistered, subject to tow and impoundment.
I was under the impression that law applied to motor vehicles. NJ is the same way. Do you know this to be applicable to trailers also?
Just because Maine will register a trailer doesn't mean that your home state is ok with it . If it's true that after 30 days an out of state registration becomes null & void , then what happens if you have an accident in your home state that involves the trailer or is caused by the trailer ? I don't know the answers, but I would at the very least , make sure with my home state before I hit the road ..............
Return to Essential Information about building teardrops
Users browsing this forum: jrl1948, OverTheTopCargoTrailer and 2 guests