Towing newbie

General Discussion about almost anything Teardrop or camping related

Towing newbie

Postby flatpicker » Mon May 13, 2013 9:34 am

I am brand new to towing and am about to get a hitch installed on my 2010 Tucson.

The car can pull 2k with brakes (1k without) so, what all would I need yo get the job done?

I am planning on goong through uhaul, which seems to offer everything I need, But I am clueless when it comes to brake controllers esp.

I am going to purchase either a little guy 5 or 6 wide (perhaps a ss) or maybe a camp inn 550.

Thanks in advance!
flatpicker
Teardrop Inspector

Re: Towing newbie

Postby TPMcGinty » Mon May 13, 2013 9:36 am

flatpicker wrote:I am brand new to towing and am about to get a hitch installed on my 2010 Tucson.

The car can pull 2k with brakes (1k without) so, what all would I need yo get the job done?

I am planning on goong through uhaul, which seems to offer everything I need, But I am clueless when it comes to brake controllers esp.

I am going to purchase either a little guy 5 or 6 wide (perhaps a ss) or maybe a camp inn 550.

Thanks in advance!

Any electric brake controller that U-Haul sells should be fine. I don't think you need anything fancy.
Tim

TPMcGinty
Gold Donating Member

Postby Al in PA » Mon May 13, 2013 6:00 pm

I've used numerous brake controllers on different tow vehicles over the years. My current Prodigy is by far the best I've experienced.

More important than the choice of brake controllers is the addition of a transmission cooler. You can burn up a transmission quickly if it overheats. Even a small trailer will generate a lot of heat in the transmission.
Al in PA
Teardrop Inspector

Postby Woodbutcher » Mon May 13, 2013 6:47 pm

X2 on the Prodigy.
Woodbutcher
Platinum Donating Member

Postby Wolffarmer » Sat May 18, 2013 1:26 pm