You don’t know what you don’t know

General Discussion about almost anything Teardrop or camping related

You don’t know what you don’t know

Postby Wrecit » Mon Nov 27, 2023 10:26 pm

As a 30 year carpenter who is tasked with helping train the next generation of carpenter way to often the title of this thread is one of my favorite go to statements to well intentioned but not so knowledgeable apprentices.

No matter if your a teardrop builder or ctc guy let’s hear what part/s of your build caused this thread title to be true.

For me being a carpenter by trade I think most of my ctc build, while being WAY slower than I had hoped has been fairly uneventful however my don’t know what you don’t know issue has been to constant calculating and recalculating my rigs total weight to insure it can drive down the road. My day time job is building homes and commercial as well as industrial sites that have a fairly static load that doesn’t move much. Making sure not to overload my leaf springs, keeping the overall load even left to right as well as not making the hitch to light or to heavy has kept me up a few late nights.
You hide your conversion and call it stealth. I put mine out in the open and give it a beer.

viewtopic.php?f=50&t=74635
Wrecit
Teardrop Master

Re: You don’t know what you don’t know

Postby tony.latham » Mon Nov 27, 2023 11:14 pm

This is the way I put it in my book:

Keep this in mind: I don’t think anyone has all the skills to build a teardrop until they’ve done it. Don’t be intimidated. There are two things you need to possess to undertake this project: persistence and a willingness to learn. The needed skills are the ones you learn as you build. Teardrops are built in steps. Just take each a step at a time and you’ll get it done.

Tony
tony.latham
Gold Donating Member

Postby mountainminded » Tue Nov 28, 2023 12:32 am