aluminum frame

Anything to do with mechanical, construction etc

aluminum frame

Postby David Alston » Wed Mar 02, 2005 9:31 pm

I am planning on building a teardrop to pull behind my motorcycle. I was wondering if anyone has tried building an aluminum frame instead of a steel one to form the chasis? A local supplier has 1 3/4 inch square 3/32 wall thickness tubing which I am considering using.
David Alston
David Alston
Teardrop Inspector

Postby D. Tillery » Thu Mar 03, 2005 10:41 am

David,
Welcome to the forum. My design is around an all-aluminum frame. If you know how to work with aluminum it is certainly the way to go. For a motorcycle-sized tear you might think about having the tubing rolled for you. What is your aluminum welding experience?

D. Tillery
D. Tillery
D. Tillery
Teardrop Master

Aluminum experience

Postby David Alston » Thu Mar 03, 2005 6:07 pm

I am an aircraft mechanic by trade, so most of my experience is with riveted rather than welded aluminum. I have a MIG welder that I have done some welding with. Supplies of any exotic materials are pretty limited locally, so I'll have to do some looking around.
David Alston
David Alston
Teardrop Inspector

Postby D. Tillery » Thu Mar 03, 2005 7:16 pm

I don't see why you could not rivet and bolt the whole thing together. It would take much longer than welding it but the end result seems the same.

With the varying prices between aluminum suppliers, and its light weight, you can probably order it from another state. Try http://www.easternmetal.com

D. Tillery
D. Tillery
D. Tillery
Teardrop Master

Re: Aluminum experience

Postby asianflava » Thu Mar 03, 2005 7:34 pm

David Alston wrote:I am an aircraft mechanic by trade, so most of my experience is with riveted rather than welded aluminum. I have a MIG welder that I have done some welding with. Supplies of any exotic materials are pretty limited locally, so I'll have to do some looking around.