Fiberglass Question

Anything to do with mechanical, construction etc

Fiberglass Question

Postby Ken » Sat Apr 02, 2005 8:26 am

I have used the bendable plywood to cover top. The material is about 3/16, very soft and light, very easily punctured. The original plan was to cover the first soft layer with one or two layers of 1/8 birch. The profile is one of Andrew’s Designs and the front and rear curve back under the trailer, therefore in those areas I would be working overhead. I have no experience with epoxy but was planning to marry the top and sides with strip of epoxy and cloth. Question – If I just apply the epoxy without the fiberglass cloth to the entire soft bendable plywood would it add enough strength to withstand 70 mph rocks?

Hyperlink to profile
http://pg.photos.yahoo.com/ph/t1pt0n/album?.dir=1b5d&.src=ph&store=&prodid=&.done=http%3a//pg.photos.yahoo.com/ph/t1pt0n/my_photos%3furlhint=actn,del%253as,1%253af,0
Last edited by Ken on Sat Apr 02, 2005 11:14 am, edited 1 time in total.
Ken
Keeper of the Green Key

Postby kirkman » Sat Apr 02, 2005 9:37 am

NO....The only advice I can give you is from building fiberglass boats the glass cloth is what gives you the strength. The epoxy is only the glue that sticks the glass layers together, or the glass to the wood in your case. The epoxy will give you a nice finish but it will not ad any strength to speak of. It may make the surface appear a little harder but not impact resistant.

Hope this helps!
Jason
"If you think you are too small to make a difference, try sleeping with a mosquito." -- Dalai Lama XIV
kirkman
1000 Club
1000 Club

Postby Steve Frederick » Sat Apr 02, 2005 8:07 pm