Basic woodworking question...

Anything to do with mechanical, construction etc

Basic woodworking question...

Postby Shrug53 » Sun Apr 03, 2005 10:11 am

If I join two pieces of plywood usings biscuits, do the just glue together? Do I use finishing nails or something? Just biscuits and glue does not seem like it would be enough.

Also If I want recessed screws, so that I can use plugs to cover them. Is there a special drillbit for that?

Many thanks!
"Better living through reckless experimentation"
http://www.forgottenclassics.com
Shrug53
500 Club

Postby norm perkiss » Sun Apr 03, 2005 10:58 am

Shrug,
I'm not a woodworking expert, but here's my 2ยข.
I've used the biscuit method a couple of times. Most of the glues available today create a bond that is stronger than the wood. The biscuits add strength and provide alignment of the joining surfaces. For cabinets and such, the biscuit method is plenty strong.
I use a "forsner bit" (may have spelled it wrong) for plugging. I start using the forsner bit, drilling deep enough the accept the screw head and the plug. Then switch to a regular bit and continue drilling to complete the pilot hole. There may be other methods, but it's worked for me.
Norm
norm perkiss
Gold Donating Member

Postby toypusher » Sun Apr 03, 2005 11:07 am

Shrug,

Try looking at this link: http://www.rockler.com/ecom7/product_details.cfm?offerings_id=10607

You can get these at most home improvement or woodworking stores.

I have used biscuits for my projects for years. The typical joint is very strong and can withstand quite a bit, however, I would need to know where the joint is being put in your aplication to give you a better feel for the strength. If is is used to extend your sidewall on a teardrop and is supported with vertical bracing and and interior wall, I belive that is should be fine. You may want to use polyurethene glue (i.e., Gorilla Glue).

Just my opinion, but hope it helps.

Kerry
toypusher
Site Admin