Insulating around corners

Anything to do with mechanical, construction etc

Insulating around corners

Postby mnswamp » Mon Nov 01, 2021 6:54 pm

First apologies if this has been asked before, I looked but didn't find...

Is there any reason that using multiple layers of 1/4¨ Foamular instead of kerfing a slab of full thickness insulation won't work? obviously you can't make too tight a corner, but on a 2'+ radius it seems like it should do fine. What am I not thinking about here?
Geek by profession, coach by avocation, builder by need, sports hack by obsession.

I found my new calling - ¨Organizational chaos monkey¨
mnswamp
Teardrop Advisor

Re: Insulating around corners

Postby tony.latham » Mon Nov 01, 2021 8:26 pm

I suppose it would work.

I find it easy to cut the kerfs and then press the piece in place and it stays put.

The challenge you may have is holding all those pieces in place. But I suppose there's a way to do it.

:thinking:

Tony
tony.latham
Gold Donating Member

Postby mnswamp » Mon Nov 01, 2021 9:06 pm

Tony,
Believe me, I'm digesting your book cover to cover as I work thru a thousand details on this build.
Ordered Timbren axles last week, sketched up the frame and started figuring out where all the holes need to go, where to put flanges, what gauge tubing,
Of all the petty reasons for wanting to avoid kerfing is that I am doing most of the work in a maker space, and the wood shop boss really frowns on anything non-wood going thru the table saw. (I might have to sneak in at 0600 to do the kerfing!)
Geek by profession, coach by avocation, builder by need, sports hack by obsession.

mnswamp
Teardrop Advisor

Postby tony.latham » Mon Nov 01, 2021 9:17 pm

and the wood shop boss really frowns on anything non-wood going thru the table saw.

That's damn funny. ;)

Tony
tony.latham
Gold Donating Member

Postby Tom&Shelly » Mon Nov 01, 2021 10:33 pm

mnswamp wrote:First apologies if this has been asked before, I looked but didn't find...