Aluminium or Paint or Fiberglass Skins?

Did you just design your very own teardrop or tiny trailer? Want to discuss it? Here's the place to post your design for discussion!

Aluminium or Paint or Fiberglass Skins?

Postby Design on the fly » Thu Feb 28, 2008 8:54 pm

Hi I'm new to this project and have got the bug to build a 4x8 Benroy.
I have the HF trailer and basic plans. have not desided on how to skin it.
I'm leaning on Fiberglass anyone have any tips or suggestions?
Also Tips and suggestions on bending plywood for the ceiling would be helpful. Thanks in advance.
Design on the fly
Teardrop Inspector

Postby pete.wilson » Thu Feb 28, 2008 11:27 pm

Hey

Along with his question, where does one buy Filon? What type of paint should you use if you want to paint Filon? What kind of paint over plywood? Should the ply be sealed before primer/paint?

Pete Wilson
Why hasn't anyone found a dead bigfoot? When was the last time you found a dead deer, bear, coyote, fox, squirrel, etc. that died in the woods.........Hmmm.
pete.wilson
The 300 Club

Postby AmyH » Fri Feb 29, 2008 12:50 pm

I am planning to paint the roof of my tear with marine paint (from George Kirby Jr., back in Maine). I am going to seal the plywood first with epoxy, then prime it with Interlux Pre-Kote (which has some leveling characteristics, for spots I might miss during prep), and then put two to three coats of the marine paint on. The folks at Kirby paints have been incredibly helpful in answering all of my questions related to compatibility of different products (West System epoxy, Interlux Pre-Kote). Also, I am using Famowood to fill in the staple holes and clean up the edges where the ply meets the sides. After the roof is painted, I plan to put aluminum trim on. The sides are wood, and they have been fiberglassed and epoxied. They will be finished off with 3-5 coats of marine varnish.