Foamie Hybrid… maybe

Did you just design your very own teardrop or tiny trailer? Want to discuss it? Here's the place to post your design for discussion!

Foamie Hybrid… maybe

Postby Mikel46516 » Sat Feb 19, 2022 4:45 pm

With shades of the Sawtooth XL and borrowing liberally from the Vistabule and from members here, I've produced this preliminary plan for a camper of my own. It will feature a full 2" extruded foam shell. I'm still up in the air about the skin. Maybe PMF. Maybe fiberglass and epoxy. I'm not sure yet. I might still change the entire design to use skeletonized plywood. I am a woodworker and furniture designer, so it's a little weird that I'm designing for foam. I was looking to cut weight, but I ended up maybe a bit oversized.

Lots of details still to go before I'm ready to start building. Or to start over with an all new plan. We'll have to see. It's all designed in Sketchup. I'll post a few images now, and will be back to post more later.

Thanks for looking.

Mike

Last edited by Mikel46516 on Sun Feb 20, 2022 12:46 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Mikel46516
Teardrop Inspector

Re: Foamie Hybrid… maybe

Postby TimC » Sat Feb 19, 2022 6:02 pm

Looking forward to your build details. Impressive Sketchup drawings! I wish I was more patient with Sketchup, but, old dog, new tricks. I'm better with pencil, paper and especially eraser!

I struggled with the foam vs wood issue as well when building my son's foamie. What it came down to is weight savings and I was able to use my woodworking skills, amatuer that they are, to make some impressive trim work, shelving, cabinets and other cubbies. I would build in foam again.
Tim
Niagara, WI
My First Benroy Teardrop Build Thread - A 5x8 Woodie - http://www.tnttt.com/viewtopic.php?f=50&t=63575
My Second Teardrop (partial) Build Thread - Started August '16 - http://www.tnttt.com/viewtopic.php?f=50&t=66939
#3 My son's Benroy Foamie team build - Started July '20 - http://www.tnttt.com/viewtopic.php?f=50&t=72877

TimC