Clueless about wiring

Anything electric, AC or DC

Clueless about wiring

Postby Melle.17 » Thu Jan 21, 2021 4:00 pm

So i've been weeding through all the wiring posts and scouring the internet and am starting to get a basic understanding of how to wire this little guy. My plan is to only do 12v. I will wire in some LED lights, fan, and 12v and USB outlets. I have a couple questions... Can I still hook the trailer battery up to be charged by the tow vehicle if I only have a 4 pin connection. Also, should I have a master switch between the battery and the fuse box? Do I also need a master fuse there as well? I want to hook up a solar charger system eventually. Is that something I need to plan in the build (other than where I would put the panels) or can I add it on later? THanks for all the help you guys provide. Couldnt do it without you!
Melle.17
Teardrop Builder

Re: Clueless about wiring

Postby saltydawg » Thu Jan 21, 2021 4:24 pm

First no you cant not charge the trailer battery thru a 4 pin, even charging it thru a 7 pin is a bad idea ( voltage drop and charge issues happen when you do this ) . If you truely need to do that use a separate plug like an anderson 50 amp plug to connect the the trailer battery to the TV. You would want to run at least a number 10, but even better a number 8 for this.

You should have some sort of shut off and fuse. An easy way to do it is a breaker like listed below, push the button and its off, also does the over current protection.

Yes you should run the wires to the solar location now, but no need to connect them to anything, just get them ran. Once you put the panels and charge controller in, just take the output side of the charge controller to a fuse on the fuse block ( thats the right size fuse )