Tow Vehicle to Trailer Connections

Anything electric, AC or DC

Tow Vehicle to Trailer Connections

Postby Capebuild » Thu Mar 18, 2021 6:57 am

Hello. I'm getting on to planning for all connections from the tow vehicle to the trailer. I'm a novice when it comes to auto electrical stuff like this so my questions are very basic.

I'm envisioning there's 3 "interactions" between vehicle and trailer:
1) Vehicle battery to trailer battery for charging battery on trailer.
2) Vehicle lights to trailer lights (brake lights, marker lights, turn signals, stuff like that)
3) Brakes. I'm planning on a Dexter axle with electronic brakes with proportional brake controller and possibly a parking brake for trailer (I realize probably not an "electrical" issue but a connection between auto and trailer).

Are all these connections done as 3 separate wiring runs? How do the connections occur (from auto to trailer). I've got a lot of reading to take in on all this, but I'm hoping some responses from the members here can get me pointed in the right direction as a place to start.

Thanks very much for any insights.

John
"Success can be defined as moving from failure to failure without loss of enthusiasm".... Churchill

Visit my Teardrop build here: viewtopic.php?f=50&t=73779
Capebuild
Donating Member

Re: Tow Vehicle to Trailer Connections

Postby Juneaudave » Thu Mar 18, 2021 7:09 am

John....If I remember correctly, your tow vehicle will be a Subaru Outback...Is that correct? And does it already have wiring for a flat 4 plug?
Juneaudave
Super Duper Lifetime Member

Postby Capebuild » Thu Mar 18, 2021 7:42 am

Hi Juneaudave, you have a good memory :-)
Yes, 2019 Subaru Outback and I do have a hitch installed with 4 pin wiring. I pull a boat trailer so that connector does illuminate the lights on the boat trailer.
So I'm assuming I can gather the wiring for the brake lights, turn signals, marker lights on the trailer, terminate those in a corresponding 4 pin connector and attach