Is my lazy way to get AC power in the trailer a problem?

Anything electric, AC or DC

Is my lazy way to get AC power in the trailer a problem?

Postby Felix_Esq » Fri Apr 02, 2021 3:59 pm

I am relatively new to electricity. Physics classes in college did not prepare me for figuring out electrical systems 25 years later. Nevertheless, I have a DC system all figured out.

My question is related to AC systems. I have an inverter from a different project, which I am thinking of installing. I wanted to be sure AC was available both inside the trailer, and in the galley. I have thought of two ways to do this:

So everyone's on the same page, my battery is in the tongue box, and I run two 6 gauge cables from the battery, through a master kill switch, then out of the tongue box into an electrical box inside a cabinet at the head of the sleeping area. The electrical box has a fuse panel, a negative/ground bus bar, a switch panel for lights and accessories, and all the wiring to sort that out.

Idea Number 1:

I first thought of connecting 6 gauge wires from the electrical box at the front of the trailer, running those cables through the roof structure alongside the other DC wires (14 gauge) to the galley. I would install the inverter in the galley, and then install plug strips or AC outlets both at the foot of the sleeping area inside, and in the galley, thus getting AC power inside and outside. One problem: 6 AWG cables get expensive pretty fast. Nevertheless, I have a hunch this is the "right way" to do this, though more expensive.

Idea Number 2: