LiFePo4 100 aHr build

Anything electric, AC or DC

LiFePo4 100 aHr build

Postby TimC » Mon Aug 23, 2021 5:17 pm

I thought I would briefly document my build of a 100 aHr LiFePo4 battery bank. This is an upgrade from my AGM. Less than half the weight of my 144 aHr AGM bank and about half the space. Some may argue that this wasn't a true build and I accept that. It is a kit that includes four cylindrical 3.2v cells (100 aHr) to be wired together with the included BMS (battery management system). My source is batteryhookup.com and this kit is the currently available "12v 100ah Lifepo4 Kit w/ BMS & Low Temp" kit which totaled about $285 shipped. I can not compare this kit to other materials available. It is my first build and I am just reporting what I have experienced with it.

You can build a bigger and maybe better quality LiFePo4 for a little more money. I just wanted a kit with matched components and didn't care to do the research to figure that all out on my own. I welcome any and all critiques of my methods and the product.

This is the (+) terminal of one cell. The (-) negative terminal is the same with a black shrink tubing. I will refer to the cells (-) and (+) terminals as the battery posts. They are not technically posts but for the purposes of this build I will refer to them as posts. On these cylindrical cells the battery "posts" are lugs with multiple wires running into a single positive and a single negative wire lug. I cut away a small amount of the cell pack's shrink wrap to allow the wires to flex easier.