How to know which battery to get

Anything electric, AC or DC

How to know which battery to get

Postby attomica » Thu Oct 21, 2021 11:24 am

I'm starting to layout the electrical system for my cargo trailer conversion. It'll be purely 12v - a LiFePO4 battery charged by solar panels or shore power. I'm wondering how to select between 100Ah or 206Ah batteries.
Items that will require current include...
- Eight LED ceiling puck lights
- A Fantastic Fan
- A few USB charging ports for iDevices, bluetooth speaker, etc.
- A 12v water pump for the sink
- A 12v shower
- A socket to power a 12v cooler/fridge
- A diesel heater
I'm inclined to get the 206Ah one, but it is physically much larger than the 100Ah one. So, would a 100Ah one sustain regular living for a couple days before needing a charge? Of course, I understand it depends how much any of these things are used, but I imagine most people use them in similar ways. I'm not experienced in trailer camping, so I'd be grateful for any guidance.
attomica
Teardrop Builder

Re: How to know which battery to get

Postby Tom&Shelly » Thu Oct 21, 2021 12:48 pm

attomica wrote:I'm starting to layout the electrical system for my cargo trailer conversion. It'll be purely 12v - a LiFePO4 battery charged by solar panels or shore power. I'm wondering how to select between 100Ah or 206Ah batteries.
Items that will require current include...
- Eight LED ceiling puck lights
- A Fantastic Fan
- A few USB charging ports for iDevices, bluetooth speaker, etc.
- A 12v water pump for the sink
- A 12v shower
- A socket to power a 12v cooler/fridge
- A diesel heater
I'm inclined to get the 206Ah one, but it is physically much larger than the 100Ah one. So, would a 100Ah one sustain regular living for a couple days before needing a charge? Of course, I understand it depends how much any of these things are used, but I imagine most people use them in similar ways. I'm not experienced in trailer camping, so I'd be grateful for any guidance.