Build or Buy Chassis Frame

Ask questions about Harbor Freight trailers, or questions about building your own...

Build or Buy Chassis Frame

Postby Capebuild » Wed Feb 03, 2021 4:17 am

I'm just at the beginning stages of researching for my build.
One issue that's got me perplexed and which I'm debating is to whether build (weld) the frame or buy one. I'm skeptical of the HF and NT product, not a fan of the bolted together structural members.

I have little experience welding but plan on purchasing a Millermatic 211 MIG welder soon. So I could feasibly weld up a frame with some research and learning (understanding I need to know what I'm doing before proceeding).

I have a couple of questions to pose to the forum. Do most people weld up their own frames? If not, what alternatives are there to HF and NT? Preferably something that is welded.
I would like to have a unit that has brakes, or is capable of having them added.

Thanks very much for your thoughts.

John
"Success can be defined as moving from failure to failure without loss of enthusiasm".... Churchill

Visit my Teardrop build here: viewtopic.php?f=50&t=73779
Capebuild
Donating Member

Re: Build or Buy Chassis Frame

Postby bobhenry » Wed Feb 03, 2021 8:07 am

For about the cost of the welder you can buy a ready built trailer and revise as needed.

Last edited by bobhenry on Wed Feb 03, 2021 8:13 am, edited 1 time in total.
Growing older but not up !
bobhenry
Ten Grand Club
Ten Grand Club

Postby Capebuild » Wed Feb 03, 2021 8:11 am

Noted.... however I am planning on buying the welder anyway. It's the one "craft" I'm lacking and have always wanted to have that craft in my "arsenal of tools".
I've got a number of other projects that require welding.....
so back to my original post.

Thank you for the thought.

John
"Success can be defined as moving from failure to failure without loss of enthusiasm".... Churchill

Capebuild
Donating Member

Postby bobhenry » Wed Feb 03, 2021 8:20 am