Boat Trailer vs. Utility Trailer

Ask questions about Harbor Freight trailers, or questions about building your own...

Boat Trailer vs. Utility Trailer

Postby Paintsalot » Thu Nov 18, 2021 7:11 pm

Hi Everyone,

I'm a newbie here. Do you recommend I buy a new utility trailer, or work with the trailer I have? I have an old trailer left over from when a pine tree fell across my 470 sailboat, but the trailer survived.

I am planning on a building a fold down caravan. It will be similar in concept to this one which was pulled by a bicycle: https://tinyhousetalk.com/modern-bicycl ... psy-wagon/ Tow limit is 1000 lbs for my Honda.

Pros for keeping it:
-Save $$$
-Puts it to good use
-I know the trailer, have driven it over 70mph with a boat on it
-Clear clutter from my yard!
-Axle position is adjustable with bolts.

Cons for keeping it:
-Will need to cantilever the floor at the front with wood framing (no welding for me)
-Trailer tongue is pretty long, may need cutting
- Needs painting, some rust spots.

Pros for a new trailer:
-Start fresh. Trailer the right size, 5x8 ft.
-Maybe better for resale?
-Possibly more stable, all edges supported.

I have a lot of other things I can put towards the build. Cedar 2x's, rubber roofing, etc. If I keep the trailer, I could try to build it with as much stuff I have already.... very environmental! :)

Here are some photos I already shared in the Sketchup channel.
167690 My boat trailer
167706Dimensions of existing and extension (edited from earlier)
167691 Set up
167692 sides down, ends come next
167693 All sides and top down
167689 rough interior section

Thanks for input,
Matthew
Last edited by Paintsalot on Thu Nov 18, 2021 11:09 pm, edited 2 times in total.
Paintsalot
Teardrop Advisor

Re: Boat Trailer vs. Utility Trailer

Postby Paintsalot » Thu Nov 18, 2021 7:17 pm

p.s. Not sure if this is the best spot for this question... y'all let me know if there's a better place to post it?
Thx!
Paintsalot
Teardrop Advisor