Frame for Extra Small/Narrow Teardrop

Ask questions about Harbor Freight trailers, or questions about building your own...

Frame for Extra Small/Narrow Teardrop

Postby King Butter Turtle » Sun Jul 24, 2022 3:02 pm

I'm a newbie here - looking to build an especially tiny teardrop to pull behind my FIAT - it will be just for one person - no galley, no storage/AC/TV/etc. I'd like it to be about 32" wide - no more than 40", about 78" long - no more than 84" and about 42" tall - no more than 48". I'm thinking of using 1/2" ply and 1/2" foam for the walls and 1/4" ply and 1" foam for the ceiling. Hoping to weigh in under 500 pounds. (ideally well under)

I'm looking for suggestions for a frame. At first, I was going to use a PWC trailer from Northern Tool because it's the only thing I could find narrow than 48" but long enough. But, they're hard to find used and, if I bought one new, I would be paying for quite a bit that I had no use for anyway (the boat bunks, the winch support and the non-highway speed tires which I would replace) - plus, they're currently backordered two months and I would like to start before it gets cold.

So, making my own trailer from scratch is an option - that way I could get the exact dimensions I'm looking for. I don't weld but, I figure if all the Harbor Freight/Northern Tool trailers are bolted together anyway, what difference does it make if I buy all the pieces separately? I did find an axle and springs that are just about right but, with the cost of steel, that would really add up - probably ending up more expensive than the PWC trailer.