Electrical: location of battery, converter etc.

Important Information and Stickies...
(Threads with essential information about building teardrops)

Electrical: location of battery, converter etc.

Postby drd48 » Sat Nov 20, 2021 12:34 pm

I'm just getting started with my 4x8 teardrop build. Trying to figure out where to locate electrical components. I am thinking of building a good weather proof tongue box and locating the battery, converter, wizard, distribution panel, shorepower inlet etc. all within the tongue box. Does this make any sense? The main issue that I see with it is to take pains to build a good weather proof box as well as taking care to be sure that the two wire holding channels from the box to the trailer are also well protected. Comments will be greatly appreciated
drd48
Teardrop Inspector

Re: Electrical: location of battery, converter etc.

Postby swoody126 » Sat Nov 20, 2021 1:19 pm

drd48, your concept has merit

IMHO keeping a battery out of sleeping space(breathing fumes) and cooking space(igniting fumes) makes a lot of sense to me

i saw something similar at a gathering a few years ago

nicely done in a P/U bed rail tool box(do not remember the builder's name)

sadly the forum software wont let me post the pics(which is not uncommon on this forum)

sw
"we are the people our parents warned us about" jb
swoody126
500 Club

Postby MtnDon » Sat Nov 20, 2021 1:20 pm

What type of battery? You do not want to have anything else in the same compartment if the batteries are flooded lead-acid.
Our 6x12 deep vee nose cargo trailer camper conversion... viewtopic.php?f=42&t=58336

We have a small off grid cabin we built ourselves in the NM mountains; small PV solar system; 624 watts PV, Outback CC & inverter/charger ... http://countryplans.com/smf/index.php?topic=2335.0
MtnDon
2000 Club
2000 Club

Postby Socal Tom » Sat Nov 20, 2021 1:26 pm