Hi

This is the place where you can introduce yourself, and include a photo if so desired.

Hi

Postby QuietOutdoorsman » Mon Jun 09, 2008 3:10 pm

I've been lurking on this board for a couple months and thought I'd finally crawl out from the shadows and introduce myself. :D

I am 32, living in Soggy Central...aka, the wonderful Pacific NW! Originally from Ohio, I have been in Washington for 7 years and love it. I am an Aerospace Engineer both by formal education and occupation. Yes, I could design your TD to fly along behind as you drive. :shock: No, I'm not going to do that....just to avoid having the Highway Patrol ask the obvious question of WHY????

I do not yet have a TD, but I am slowly working on the design for one.
I do have a landscape/utility trailer:
http://www.strongboxtrailers.com/page/Model_8000HD_Utility_Trailer_a
Due to working on my house I have to keep the functionality of the utility trailer, so I'm looking at making the TD cabin as removeable. Yes, for my first build I am going to jack the complexity up by a factor of 5, but I think I can do it. To answer the obvious question of why not just get a second trailer and go simple? I barely have room to store one trailer, and definitely not two. Besides...removeable means I'm just hauling cargo on my already licensed utility trailer, right? :thinking:

It will be months before I am ready to start building. I just wanted to thank everyone for this great forum and all the information available!

Dirk
QuietOutdoorsman
Teardrop Advisor

Postby Roly Nelson » Mon Jun 09, 2008 3:24 pm

welcome aboard Dirk, looks like you have pretty well figured out what you want your teardrop to look like. By looking at your existing trailer, it sure looks like it will be able to handle the weight alright. However, the tall sides may pose a problem for any doors on the sides. I doubt if you can make a door above the top of the sides, unless you plan to enter the tear like a Nascar driver.