LOOKING to buy a 6x12 to convert!

Converting Cargo Trailers into TTTs

LOOKING to buy a 6x12 to convert!

Postby waterboybueche » Sun Jan 24, 2010 11:38 am

Hey Everybody,

I am new to the idea of converting a trailer... I went back and forth with the voices in my head that sounded like this...

"if we buy a camping trailer, cant take the bikes, its too big, dont have a monster truck to tow with and I can make it the way I want to, too expensive, hate towing tall trailers in the wind..."

"Convert an enclosed trailer.... I can tow it with my Explorer, haul our motorcycles, build the interior to suit our needs, use it to haul furniture when it rains.... blah, blah , blah!!!"

I decided we can make a 6x12 work to bring the motorcycles and sleep 3-4....

My question is....

If I get a new one (probably not) how about the LOWES trailer or similiar stores???

WHat brands to stay away from? Not looking to spend a fortune OR have to have the best!!! Just would rather buy something that is known for being decent to good!!!

Thanks everybody for helping with my NEWBIE questions and issues!!!

Have fun and be safe!!!
waterboybueche
Teardrop Builder

Postby Gonefishin » Sun Jan 24, 2010 7:47 pm

Its likely a personal decision. When I faced the same question months ago, I just looked at every 6X12 I could find, both new and used, for comparison. I ended up with Haulmark's higher end one. Some brands were many hundreds cheaper, some were over a thousand more.

Do your homework like on any other significant purchase. See what you get or don't get for a few hundred here and there. If you buy from a dealer, consider the quality of service you expect, especially if they do any work on it after delivery. That's worth something too.

There is probably no one "best", "middle", or "poor" for anyone. Take a look at a bunch, make an informed choice, and let the fun begin!!! Compare, compare, compare.
Gonefishin
Donating Member

Thanks gonefishin