Sport hauler

Design & Construction of anything that's not a teardrop e.g. Grasshoppers or Sunspots

Sport hauler

Postby silvervtx » Sun Oct 29, 2006 1:00 pm

Hey has anyone ever built a sport hauler??

I would like to have a tear drop and be able to haul my bike as well any ideas

I am completely new to this

I think its awesome I am looking forward to building one!!
silvervtx
Teardrop Inspector

Postby Gerdo » Sun Oct 29, 2006 1:20 pm

Little Guy sells an ATV/Teardrop. http://www.golittleguy.com/sixsport.html# Just as a thought.

I'm sure that it could be home built. The big thing to consider is tougue weight. With the ATV on it you would have alot of tongue weight. Can your tow vehicle handle it? They show their tongue weight at 140#. I'm sure that is with out an ATV on.
Gerdo
1000 Club
1000 Club

thanks

Postby silvervtx » Sun Oct 29, 2006 1:40 pm

I have seen them they are super expensive and I do not like the tongue wieght issue,I was thinking of moving the axle to a center point still planning it out but I need to get started soon.
silvervtx
Teardrop Inspector

Re: thanks

Postby Kevin A » Sun Oct 29, 2006 1:47 pm

silvervtx wrote:I have seen them they are super expensive and I do not like the tongue wieght issue,I was thinking of moving the axle to a center point still planning it out but I need to get started soon.

Normally there would be an issue with the wheel & fender interfering with the door opening when locating the axle in the center of the trailer, here's one trailer that worked around that problem.
I imagine you could build something similar to this with the extended tongue to allow room to mount a quad or other sport vehicle.
"Follow me, I'm right behind you"

ImageImage
Kevin A
The other guy

Postby Gerdo » Sun Oct 29, 2006 4:03 pm

You could do a 60/40 ballance with the ATV on but you could not tow it without the ATV or equal weight on because it would be tail heave and sway like mad.
Gerdo
1000 Club
1000 Club