My Teardrop Design.... Mind and Computer Latest Update

Design & Construction of anything that's not a teardrop e.g. Grasshoppers or Sunspots

My Teardrop Design.... Mind and Computer Latest Update

Postby Davedbq » Tue Jul 24, 2007 10:58 am

Hello Everyone,
Here is the next images of my teardrop design using Blender 3D. As in a previous submission this design has been on my mind for a number of years and is now in the design phase in my computer. I have 90% of the design worked out and what you see as far as the framework I could start building today. Still have to work out the fine details. As I said in an earlier post I am a designer for John Deere so my work experience helps a lot while tweaking my design for the teardrop. Looking more and more possible. Once again I would appreciate any comments. Enjoy the photos. :D Dave
Davedbq
Teardrop Inspector

Postby apratt » Tue Jul 24, 2007 11:10 am

That is looking cool, but what would you use for skin. It is kinda hard to make plywood do compound curves. :thumbsup:
Arthur,

ASL spoken here
apratt
Gold Donating Member

Teardrop Skin

Postby Davedbq » Tue Jul 24, 2007 11:42 am

My design would be a composite of foam and fiberglass. The framework would be filled with foam sheeting and then the entire trailer would be coated with several layers of fiberglass. This would take some doing as you would still have to make the compound curves but with sanding the foam is able to do this much more readily than plywood. That and the fact that foam is a very easy material to shape. The inside could be either wood panels or it also could be glassed. With the foam in the teardrop it would insulate the trailer like a thermos bottle. It would either keep it warm or cool depending on the outside temperature. Take a look at my first posting of my design there are more photos there of the foam sheeting in place.
Davedbq
Teardrop Inspector

Postby apratt » Tue Jul 24, 2007 11:54 am