First build of a 5x 9, Updated 9-13-11, Final Details

...ask your questions in the appropriate forums BUT document your build here...preferably in a single thread...dates for updates, are appreciated....

First build of a 5x 9, Updated 9-13-11, Final Details

Postby kentucky bryan » Sat Jul 23, 2011 1:07 pm

Well here we go !!

I have to preface this that this build is going faster than I can take pictures so if there is something you'd like to see, shout out and I'll try and get a picture for you.

If you followed this over from the Newbie Forum, you know that I am a custom cabinet maker by trade. The design has been in process since Christmas and conditions were right to cut it loose in the shop.

On Monday the 17th I picked up the steel tubing for the frame at Metals Depot in Winchester, KY. They've got a good web site listing all sizes and prices. The tubing for the frame is 2 x 2 x 1/8 wall.

Also picked up all sheet goods at our cabinet supplier Flagg Inc. In Nicholasville, KY. Cabinets and Floor are 1/2" Baltic Birch, Exterior and interior skins are 1/8" Baltic Birch. Wall sides are 3/4" Luan.

The guys were finishing details on the last cabinet job so I was able to get drawings ready for the frame and floor.

Monday evening all electrical was order from Tweety's. WFCO convertor, porch lights, galley lights, 12 volt plugs, interior lights.

Tuesday morning was a trip to Gatormade Trailers for axle, jack, fenders, light kit, and coupler. Gatormade is in Somerset, KY but they have a good Ebay store. Since I'm only about 40 miles from their brick and mortar, I was able to pick up and no shipping !!

Got back to the shop and started routing parts.

The filon skin was order Tuesday afternoon from Factory RV Surplus.
Ouch that one hurt the budget at $19+ /running foot. Yea I know it's 103 inches wide, but if your trying to do this without seams, it's still a $700 date including shipping.

By late Tuesday we were able to see what the frame was going to look like.