Connecting propane tank to stove without 5430 regulator

stand up or sit down...to sink or not to sink...want or got gas...post your Q&A here..........

Connecting propane tank to stove without 5430 regulator

Postby pkluma68 » Wed Feb 16, 2022 11:01 am

Greetings,

This is my first time posting on the forum. I’m also new to the teardrop community having recently purchased my first trailer. I have a 2005 Hunter HU-4 Fat Shadow and I’m trying to get it dialed in for a summer of fun.

I updated the stove slide but the problem is the rigid pipe/regulator that connects to the stove sticks out and blocks the drawers. I’m using a 10# propane tank and have the high-pressure hose that connects to the stove regulator. The stove is a Coleman Model 5466A Series with a 5430 regulator set to 15 psi.

I have asked both Coleman and GasOne for advice and they both declined to provide any advice. Liability concerns, I guess.

I have come up with three options and am hoping the community can guide me to a good decision. I’m hoping not to blow up the trailer or burn down the forest!

Option 1 – Replace the Coleman high pressure hose with one that includes an adjustable regulator that I can set to 15 psi. Connect directly to the tank and the stove, eliminating the 5430 regulator. Tank -> high-pressure hose with 15 psi regulator -> stove.

Option 2 – Add a second hose between the 5430 regulator and the stove. So, tank -> high-pressure hose -> 5430 regulator -> high-pressure hose -> stove.

Option 3 – Play it safe, leave things alone and deal with the inconvenience.

I have searched through the forum but haven't found any posts that directly address this question. Thanks, in advance, for all your feedback.
pkluma68
Teardrop Inspector

Re: Connecting propane tank to stove without 5430 regulator

Postby pkluma68 » Wed Feb 16, 2022 11:02 am

Still figuring out how to use the forum. Here's a picture showing my issue.
pkluma68
Teardrop Inspector

Postby tony.latham » Wed Feb 16, 2022 11:16 am