Will this work for a standie?

Canvas covered foamies (Thrifty Alternatives...)

Moderator: eaglesdare

Will this work for a standie?

Postby jakie » Tue Aug 16, 2011 8:53 pm

I have a pop up tent trailer, that is mostly dismantled, and I therefore have a frame etc, with a dimension of 72 inches by 141 inches. This seems too big for a standard teardrop, but I wondered about doing a standie with the same type of dimensions as a camplite 11. I started playing around with the graph paper (old school, and have no idea how to use sketchup :shock: ) I hope to make the outer dimensions 80 by 141 inches, and the height 78 inches. Here are the scans of my doodles. Please let me know what you think.

I was going to build a gen benroy....now...foamie here I come
jakie
Teardrop Builder

Postby GPW » Wed Aug 17, 2011 5:52 am

J , that looks very workable ... Nice size for comfort ... :thumbsup:

Not sure about the Stove idea ??? :o
There’s no place like Foam !
GPW
Gold Donating Member

Postby eaglesdare » Wed Aug 17, 2011 8:14 am

if gpw says it looks good then i agree with him. (i have no idea about the technical stuff).
but i also would have to question the stove. heat, fire and foam oh my.
Louella
May the foam be with you.
eaglesdare
Donating Member

Postby GPW » Wed Aug 17, 2011 8:49 am

Well I was just saying it looked "comfortable" and livable (place for everything ) ... Was assuming a raised bed for storage under... lightweight dinette can double as a sofa or bed ... I keep thinking the stub wall could be extended across the ceiling in an arched doorway for a little more roof support ,aesthetics ... unless you're using wood braces across the top ... or both ... the inner structure does add to the overall strength of the cabin , all little things adding up ...