Perseverance

Canvas covered foamies (Thrifty Alternatives...)

Moderator: eaglesdare

Perseverance

Postby tomhawk » Mon Nov 28, 2022 2:26 pm

This is a post about a trailer I have been working on for several years. My initial plan was this was a retirement project. Only problem, I did not retire. This limited the time I could spend on the project. Over time, a little here and a little there, progress was made. We have been camping with it for over a year; we have towed it over 3000 miles.

I have very limited shop skills. I learned as I went along. This project gave me an excuse to purchase a number of tools I had always wanted to own. Very little of what I did is that novel. I borrowed a lot of ideas from posts folks made on this site. I will just cover some of the details I found interesting to me.

I wanted a small trailer for camping. We had rented a teardrop camper in California to drive up the north coast a few years ago. My wife thought this was much better than tent camping.

I wanted it to be large enough for a full size bed mattress and long enough for me (6'3").

I liked the idea of a galley for convenience in cooking. I like to cook stuff when I camp. A few folding chairs under the shade of the raised galley hatch made for a pleasant picnic venue on our prior trip to California.

The design I picked was essentially the profile of the "Rimple" listed in Andrew's design library.
Design_Library/Design_Library.html. I had no idea if I could do rounded surfaces but I was willing to try. Foam covered by canvas seemed like an attractive medium.

We settled on an inside cabin floor dimension of 56" X 80" with a 56" x 27" galley. The floor to ceiling distance is 48".

The 60" X 110" floor was constructed from top and bottom layers of 1/4" plywood in a sandwich surrounding a 3/4" foam core. I could have saved some weight had I used some 1/8" plywood, but I was unable to source it locally.