5x8 design questions

Member designs created in Sketchup or other cad program

5x8 design questions

Postby DesertApprentice » Sat May 22, 2021 1:50 pm

Hello, newbie here, this is my first post. 

I'm designing a 5x8 square teardrop from ground up. My towing vehicle is a 4-door JL Rubicon. I want a light-weight off-roading camper.
I found a design online, and modified it. Here are the 3 sketches.
camper-frame.png
camper-frame.png (129.91 KiB) Viewed 4261 times

camper-wheels.png
camper-wheels.png (243.69 KiB) Viewed 4261 times
full-view.png
full-view.png (211.29 KiB) Viewed 4261 times

I have no prior building skills. I bought a welder a few months ago and did some practice. I have many questions about the frame design.

1. I hope the overall frame design is sound. Any constructive or destructive feedback is welcome :)
2. For the metal, the plan is 1/4 inch 2x2 square tubings for the frame, but the tongue (3 pieces) will be 3/8 inch 2x2. Does that sound right?
3. Is the length of the tongue correct? The design criteria is that my Jeep (with a big 37" tire on the backdoor) can turn freely without jackknifing and hitting the camper. I plan to have an off roading articulating coupler like etrailer lock n roll. Etrailer has so many options,I'm sort of lost. Any particular recommendations?
4. I plan to use Timbren axle. etrailer.com has 2000lbs / 3500lbs. I need the package with the electric brake. It's very pricy. Any alternative? https://www.etrailer.com/Trailer-Axles/ ... S545E.html

For the tire, I plan to use the original 33" tires from my Rubicon. My Rubicon currently has 37" tires.

I'm going one step at a time. I don't have a clear plan for the actual cabin yet.

Thank you all in advance!!
DesertApprentice
Teardrop Advisor

Re: 5x8 design questions

Postby tony.latham » Sat May 22, 2021 2:48 pm