foam durability as it ages?

Canvas covered foamies (Thrifty Alternatives...)

Moderator: eaglesdare

foam durability as it ages?

Postby Lonewolf42301 » Thu Oct 03, 2013 11:18 am

Yes,I'm a newbie to the board but long time builder of various projects... Done body repair all my life with lots of experience in many areas... My project it to build a teardrop with rear galley light enuf to pull behind my Harley and will sleep 2. Im tossing up between building an all aluminum, a glassed foamie or a hybred between the 2..... My intention is to put a somewhat pointed nose on a 4 1/2 x 9 and low ground clearance with skirts (and storage under bed floor) for aero. It will see many miles each year on all ranges of road conditions. Main question I have right now is durability with rough roads, vibration, and ageing plus effects of uv rays and weather... Has anyone on here had one with many miles on it and a few years of weather and sun? :beer:
Lonewolf42301
Teardrop Builder

Re: foam durability as it ages?

Postby GPW » Thu Oct 03, 2013 12:00 pm

LW, 3 Summers in our Blistering Southern Sun and my Foamie #1 is still fine ... :thumbsup: Our official Foamie’ aging tests only go back "so far" here, ( The "Big Bang” of the virtual foam universe ) but many are well-travelled and show no ill signs from what has been reported...

We do know they outlive the wooden trailers stored outside, and Anything “RV” ... :R Personally tested .. :frightened:
There’s no place like Foam !
GPW
Gold Donating Member

Postby grantstew8 » Thu Oct 03, 2013 3:42 pm

Using polystyrene for building with it great, it does not degrade. From a litter point of view it is a disaster.
SIPs houses have been around since the 40's and 50's. it's also surprisingly strong.
Google "sips strength", look at the omages and you'll see 4x4s on sips panels.
I'd not worry too much about the strength of polystyrene. Not sue about pu though...
grantstew8
The 300 Club

Postby atahoekid » Thu Oct 03, 2013 5:48 pm